Question to be answered by you..

I have Question, or maybe Questions..

Q1 When you put your kids on booster or high chair for meal time, how they behave? Do they resist at first, and settle after realize it’s meal time?

Q2 When they like the food that is offered? Do they keep bugging for next spoon? and complain by making sound if you are not fast enough?

Q3 Do they sit “quietly” and “nicely” wait to be fed or keep banging on the table to show his excitement?

I asked cause I see many friends’ kiddos sit quietly on high chair, enjoy their food, as much as they enjoy, they rarely make loud sound…. and they really so into the food that they just eat and eat and eat… Mine is like make big “hu HA” when eating.. Did I spoilt my boys?

18 thoughts on “Question to be answered by you..

  1. michelle chua

    hahaha…. my 2 boys also never sit quietly! have to made me like crazzy women keep on ask them to open their mouth! esp vie hon when he dun wanna eat no ones can force him! hu…hu…. really not easy huh!

    1. Lynette Chua

      Michelle, really really not easy.. Although somehow i am quite “fierce” and they will sit in the chair.. but not without lots of “stunts”!!

    1. Lynette Chua

      Blessedmummy, my eldest one is 2y2m only, so we yet to enrol him in school.. Mine dun run around, but just jump up n down, bang on the table, especially Jude(8mths old) sometimes when i shovel the food into his mouth, his hand “eats” it before it reaches his mouth.. SLAP!

  2. I think different baby got different attitude towards high chair.. Breanna was pretty easy, as she knows the minute you put her in the high chair, it’s her meal time.. and on top of that, she will ‘ask’ for her food fast!! my mum says that coz she is ‘wai sek’.. :p

    1. Lynette Chua

      Cynthia, I find that most girls have better “table manners”.. They will sit nicely and really quietly… boys they do really gives me headache…
      I always say it’s nice that breanna is “wai sek”.. coz wai sek baby is very very CUTE!!! and easier to take care also….

  3. rachel

    aiyo…i think i m bad mom.
    honestly, i dont know about philip’s feeding pattern. why?

    mon-fri – lunch n dinner at my mom. i will pick him up after work. by the time, he already finish. so i dont know how’s he.

    at night, at home, while i hv my dinner, he will pinch some food from my dinner plate. i will just continue to feed him until he said he is full.

    on weekend, we go for brunch. and he sits on the 3 stack chairs (not highchair) n he will self feed his western breakfast (normally scramble eggs n sauges) all by himself. no fuss n such. while waiting for his food to come, he will play with his car. 1 car. and by the time he finishes his meal, i m done with mined. evening, we go to a more proper restaurant n normally he will eat. this time i will feed him cos most plates/such are glassware….

    for me, it started off a VERY strict. U-only-eat-if-u-r-sitted-at-the-highchair!!

  4. Lynette Chua

    Rachel, sound to me Philip is such a well behaved boy!!!!! can self feed some more.. envy envy…… Philip is so matured and understanding… I usually have to quickly swallow my food in 10 min time and feed both of them…

  5. joshua's mummy

    Joshua seldom sits still on the highchair. I normally shove toys at him while we are at home and when we are dining out, i let him play with straws, chopsticks, spoon etc hahaha……that’s the only way I can feed him and eat at the same time. He will eat happily if he is hungry or if it is his fav food. I have to rotate his menu a few times! And will definitely make noise if I am not fast enough, that’s IF he is hungry and he likes his food. Sometimes, he bangs the table in excitement. I am fine with tat. Rather him be excited than upset.

    1. Lynette Chua

      Shirlin, even if shove toys to him, he doesn’t throw to the floor? (when going out?)

      I see Joshie can sometiems stay in highchair and read book… *envious look* from me..

      1. joshua's mummy

        of course he throws lar, but we try to say “no” a few times and give him different things to distract him……I am very stern when it comes to highchair and meal times with Joshie. I am all alone without any help and hubby works v hard, travels a lot too, so definitely haf to make him sit still…..haha……coz i usually eat with him, i can’t eat in peace when he’s done eating coz he will always come and bother me for more food.

  6. Ocassionally i struggle to strap Brandon in. Then he is very impatient – wants the food NOW, and once finished, wants to be out of the chair NOW. Everything is NOW. Our mealtimes are 10mins tops.

  7. Q1 When you put your kids on booster or high chair for meal time, how they behave? Do they resist at first, and settle after realize it’s meal time?
    A1: For 1st time, my Benjamin is like ‘whoaaaaa… greater heights… more things to see at this height’ (of course he didn’t say it loud… but you can see his eyes are on everywhere..) And yes, because its a new thing, he sat down nicely and quietly like a good baby 😀

    Q2 When they like the food that is offered? Do they keep bugging for next spoon? and complain by making sound if you are not fast enough?
    A2: Since the day I started solids, Ben has no problem with any food at all. If he’s already hungry (cos mummy is slow in preparing his food) then yes, he will be making fussy sounds…

    Q3 Do they sit “quietly” and “nicely” wait to be fed or keep banging on the table to show his excitement?
    A3: Again, it depends whether mummy is slowpoke or not… if Ben is hangry (hungry + angry) then he will fuss loudly and starts crying out mamamamamamammamama…

    1. Lynette Chua

      Jenny, sounds like ben loves food…. hahahahahahahah cannot be too slow in serving his food ya!! hahahaha so so so cute lar..

  8. I plopped my boy onto highchair to watch us eat since he was about 4-5 months old and ALWAYS strapped up, so he is used to that. He eats fast and I must feed him very fast else he’ll protest.

    After he’s done, I’ll give him a toy / spoon / cup to play with while I eat quickly.

    This one week, he suddenly doesn’t like being fed through the spoon, he wants to feed himself with fingers! I fed him porridge / veges / fruits with fingers and put soft cubes of carrots / potatoes / veges on his tray to let him learn feeding himself. Messy yet quite cute and fun.

    Hope he’ll master self-feeding soon and he can eat quicker like before.
    I’m all ready to prepare more interesting finger foods like sushis and pastas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

