Cranberry cheese bun

Recent years, we always like to buy cranberry cheese bun from The Loaf. This is one and only bun that all of us loved it. It’s like when I go to The Loaf, I gotto make sure I grab at least 6-8 of that. Coz hub, Jude, manfred, Nate and myself all wants to eat it! Proves that we are a cheese lover family. 

Of late I ventured into baking bread, all because I got a bread maker from my sister. Initially I wanted to bake only bread loaves. But as I go about I start to have interest in trying to make bun, bun with fillings etc.  

few days back, I make a chocolate bun and decided to put cream cheese filling in it. The cheese filling was good but the bun has some funny smell which I suspect is from the cocoa powder I bought. I never like the taste of it. 

M actually asked for the bun again the next day. But no more! And I promised him I’ll try baking cranberry cheese for him. 

  The cream cheese filling is very easy to prepare, just whisk  250gm cream cheese with 100g of icing sugar. This can even be used to frost cup cake or any cake if u fancy cream cheese frosting.
   Proofing the bun before baking it. I didn’t take pic of the dough nor the wrapping pic. This pic shows the dough almost double in size ready.  
This is the end results. It’s bigger that the bun I bought from the loaf. I used about 75gm of dough per bun. Next time I think I will reduce to making 50gm.  

See the bun is very soft and fluffy. 

Recipe 

  • 300 grams of bread flour
  • 200 grams of cake flour
  • 250 grams or ml of lukewarm water
  • 100 grams of brown sugar 
  • 100 grams of butter
  • 5 grams of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 packet of instant yeast (11 grams)
  • 60 grams of cranberries (soaked)

I used Tesco Bm-10 in preparing the dough, so I placed the water with the egg first, followed by flours, then sugar on a side, yeast in the middle(dig a well) and salt at the other corner. 

I used function 8(dough mode) knead for 20min, then I restart function 8 again to knead again,10 min into kneading I add the butter in, when the dough is well kneaded I add in cranberries.

When done, transfer it to a greased bowl and let it proof for 1hour or until it doubled in size.

When it’s proofs, punch out the air, and divide it into desire size. Rest for 10min, roll it flat and start wrapping it with cream cheese filling.  

Line it up on greased tray like this, let it proof for another 45 min or until double in size.

Preheat to 190c. Bake for about 15 min or till top part lightly brown. To achieve the flat bun look, place a baking tray on top of the buns, then the bun will not rise and will be flat.  

Leave a Reply

